MEMBER GUIDE

Activity → Personal

This page is the record of all your activities throughout the site listed in chronological order. If you’re logged in, there’s a status update box before the activity stream where you can post what’s on your mind.

Filter to Show:
Everything (default)
Updates
New Sites
Posts
Comments
Friendships
New Groups
Group Memberships
Group Updates
Topics
Replies

Activity → Mentions

This page shows all the @ mentions you received throughout the site.

Filter to Show @mentions in:
Everything (default)
Updates
New Sites
Posts
Comments
Friendships
New Groups
Group Memberships
Group Updates

Activity → Favorites

This is a list of all the items (posts, comments, friendships, etc.) you have “favorited” in your Groups’ Activity Streams, the Sitewide Activity Stream, or even your own Personal Activity Stream.

Filter to Show “favorited items” in:
Everything (default)
Updates
Posts
Comments
New Groups
Group Memberships
Group Updates
Topics
Replies

Activity → Friends

This panel shows all of your friends’ activities throughout the site.

Filter to Show:
Everything (default)
Updates
New Sites
Posts
Comments
Friendships
New Groups
Group Memberships
Group Updates
Topics
Replies

Activity → Groups

This page shows all the activities recorded in the groups you have joined.

Filter to Show:
Everything (default)
Updates
Group Updates
Group Memberships
New Groups
Topics
Replies

Profile → Change Profile Photo

If the email you used to register is associated with a Gravatar.com account, then the image you uploaded at Gravatar.com will be used to represent you throughout the site. You can change the image by navigating to your Profile → Change Profile Photo page.
You have three options to upload your new profile photo:
1. Upload Tab: Open up the File Upload box by clicking on the “Select Your File” button, choose the image you prefer, crop the image, and save.
2. Upload Tab: Drag and Drop an image from your desktop to the space provided in the screen below, crop the image, and save.
3. Take Photo Tab: You will be able to use your computer’s webcam to take your profile photo if you are using a browser which supports getUserMedia. Otherwise, there will a notification on screen that this feature is not available for you at that time.
3.a. Confirm that you’re willing to share your webcam in the dialogue box which shows up in your Firefox or Chrome browser per image.
3.b. When you’re satisfied with your “pose”, click on the “Capture” button and then click on the “Save” button.
Delete Tab: If you’d like to delete your profile photo but not upload a new one, click on the “Delete My Profile Photo” button.

Notifications → Unread

This screen lists all the notifications that you received which you either have not read or marked as already read.
You have the option to delete the notifications one by one or in bulk. Any notification that you mark as “Read” or open up to read is automatically moved to the Notifications → Read page.
You can filter the order of this list: Newest First (default) or Oldest First.

Notifications → Read

This page lists all the notifications that you have either opened up to read or marked as already read.
You have the option to delete the notifications one by one or in bulk. Any notification that you mark as “Unread” is automatically moved to the Notifications → Unread page.
You can filter the order of this list: Newest First (default) or Oldest First.

Messages → Inbox

This page shows all the private messages sent to you by registered members of site.

Messages → Starred

Members can “Star” or “Un-Star” any message they receive from other members of the site.

Messages → Sent

This page shows the list of Messages you have sent to other members of the site.

Messages → Compose

This page is where you compose a Message to any member of the site.

Friends → Friendships

This page shows the list of Friends. Friends are Members who have either accepted your friendship request or those who sent a friend request and you accept such.

Friends → Requests

This page shows a list of “Friend Requests” from Members of the site. It is up to you to accept or reject such friend requests.

Groups → Memberships

This page shows the list of Groups which you have joined.

Groups → Invitations

This page shows a list of Groups where you have been invited to by a friend who is a member of the group. You have the option to accept or reject the invitation.

Settings → General

This is the page where you can change your email address or change your password.

Settings → Email

This page is where you can opt out or opt back in to receiving email notifications for the following:

Activity: A member mentions you in an update using “@admin”
Activity: A member replies to an update or comment you’ve posted
Messages: A member sends you a new message
Friends: A member sends you a friendship request
Friends: A member accepts your friendship request
Groups: A member invites you to join a group
Groups: Group information is updated
Groups: You are promoted to a group administrator or moderator
Groups: A member requests to join a private group for which you are an admin

Settings → Profile Visibility

This page is where you can change the visibility level of any of your profile fields. The visibility options are: “Everyone”, “Only Me”, “All Members”, or “My Friends.”

Settings → Delete Account

This is where you can delete your account in the site. Note that deleting your account will delete all the content you have created in the site. Those will be completely irrecoverable.

How To Join a Private Group

1. In Group Directory page, click on the “Request Membership” button of the Private Group you want to join.
2. You’ll see the “Request Membership” text in button change to “Membership Requested”.
3. Your request to join the group is sent to the Private Group’s Admin via email (if enabled) and via notification in the Group Admin’s member navigation.
4. When the Group Admin of that private group clicks on the notification link in Toolbar or the link in the email notification received, the Group Admin is brought to the private group’s Admin > Requests screen. The Group Admin can either click on the “Accept” button or the “Reject” button.
5. The Group Admin sees a confirmation message: “Group membership request rejected/accepted.”
6. The member whose request has been rejected/accepted receives an email (if enabled) and notification in the Toolbar which when opened shows: Membership for group “name_of_group” rejected/accepted.
7. If you want to attach a message to the Group Admin when you request membership to join the private group, going to the private group’s home page is the option to choose. Click on the “Request Membership” button or on the “Request Membership” tab in the private group’s header area.
8. A textarea will show up so you could add your message to the Group Admin. Click on the “Send Message” button to send the message along with the request for membership in the private group.
9. The member requesting membership in the private group sees a confirmation message “Your membership was sent to the group administrator successfully. You will be notified when the group administrator responds to your request.”
9. When the member who got accepted to the private group clicks on the notification, the member is redirected to the private group’s home page – the private group’s activity screen.




If you have any questions or need further assistance please contact me at pickledbarrelkitchen@gmail.com